A Summer Salad Dressing – Mediterranean Style

I love salads in the summer, and often will make them so large that they are a meal onto themselves.  Often, I won’t follow a particular recipe, but certainly enjoy a “Greek” type of salad with lots of feta cheese crumbled over lettuce, cucumber, tomato, onion… and anything else I might have.

I like to whip up my own salad dressing as well – and a dear friend of mine from Greece says it’s pretty similar to what she would do for a salad dressing. Often, I don’t measure the ingredients very precisely but after enjoying salad with the dressing, my son asked me for the recipe so he could duplicate it. So… the next time I made it, I decided to precisely measure the ingredients.

This is an oil and vinegar dressing – there is supposed to be a precise ratio of oil to vinegar but I can’t recall what that is.  Of course, vinegar and oil don’t mix well together unless you add an emulsifier, which helps to bind the oil and vinegar droplets together. The molecules are still not really “mixed” together, but instead the emulsifier works as a surfectant. And emulsifier for oil and vinegar (or water) have opposite sides, one of which is attracted to water and the other is attracted to the oil droplets.

For an emulsifier, I like to use mustard powder because it works well and also provides a taste I enjoy.

So, here’s the ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/4 Cup Red Wine Vinegar
  • 3 Garlic Cloves, Minced (Yes, We love garlic!)
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Himalayan Salt
  • 2 Tablespoons Lemon Juice
  • 1/2 Teaspoon White Sugar
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Dried Basil
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Dried Oregano
  • 1/8 Teaspoon White Pepper
  • 3/4 Teaspoon Mustard Powder

I combine all the ingredients and then use an immersible blender to mix it all up together.

Drizzle over your salad. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

