Homemade Split Pea Yellow Soup

It has been awhile since I posted here, but I have still been up to quite a lot of baking, experimenting and cooking. Over Christmas and New Years, I had my ten year old son for an extended time, and we shared some great times together. We both made some “New Years Resolutions” which included me teaching him some weight training techniques while I decided to try to get back into shape myself. Things were going along great, including lots of working out, bread making, and even trying our hand at homemade English muffins when,  in mid February I somehow suffered an “evulsion fracture”  on a bone in my right forearm.

That put a temporary end to both the working out and bread making that required kneading. Thankfully, the injury is just about healed I think, and I can get back at it all, slowly – just in time for spring to arrive soon, I hope. Anyhow,  last night I was in the mood for making some “comfort food” and when out shopping, found some pork hocks at an irresistible price.  They were packaged as one hock, but cut in half, which was perfect for me.  I only wanted a half of one; the other I gave to my dog raw. He loves raw meat and bones and does well on that diet.

When I was a kid, my father used to often heat up a can of Habitant pea soup for our lunch, and it was something I always enjoyed. Later, I discovered I could make it myself with dried split yellow peas. It’s not got quite the same taste as the Habitant canned soup, but I still find it quite delicious and more warming.  In the past, I have made it on the stove, but last night, I decided to make it in the slow cooker and see how that would turn out. It turned out great!

Here’s the approximate (because I often don’t measure ingredients) recipe and method:

Ingredients:

  • 7 cups of water
  • 1/2 Pork Hock, skinned
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon white pepper (some may find this too much)
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1/2 large onion, minced (I would have used a one whole onion if they were medium size)
  • 2 teaspoons of salt

Method:

Poured water into slow cooker. Combined the rest of the ingredients into the water and gave it a good stir.

Turned slow cooker on to low setting for 10 hours. Shortly thereafter, I went to bed. In the morning, the scent of the soup cooking was wonderful! However, I resisted trying the soup until later at lunch, and just continued to let the soup cook. In fact, I let it cook all day on the low setting, and found it tasted better the longer it cooked for; as well the split peas ended up turning the soup into an almost thick dahl like texture which I really like. Before serving, I did give the soup a good stirring.

If you’ve got some split yellow peas and are wondering what to do, give this a try and let me know how you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

