Homemade Italian Salad Dressing

I eat a lot of salad. I especially love romaine lettuce and have a couple of dressings that I make myself. One is a Caesar dressing that is slightly modified but guests have told me they love it. I’ll post that recipe later. First though, is my homemade Italian dressing, which is easy to make and tastes better to me than store bought Italian dressings.

I’m sorry there is no photo of it, but next time I make a salad and use this dressing, I’ll be sure to post a photo along with this post.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup vinegar
  • 1 1/3 cups olive oil
  • 2 Tablespoons water
  • 1/2 Tablespoon garlic powder
  • ½ Tablespoon onion powder
  • ½ Tablespoon sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon oregano
  • ½ teaspoon ground pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon thyme
  • ½ teaspoon basil
  • ½ tablespoon finely chopped dried parsley
  • 1 Tablespoon salt

Method:

Mix all the above ingredients together. I use a “shaker” that I purchased from a Tupperware dealer. It works perfectly, and I keep the dressing in the shaker, in the fridge. The oil does harden a bit after refrigeration so warm it up or bring to room temperature before using, and shake well each time.

Leave a Reply

